Annoying Cell Phone Conversations

Do cell phone conversations annoy you? They annoy me. If I am trying to read or concentrate, I get headaches from trying to concentrate on my work and not listening to them. All this time, I thought it was just me . . . nope . . . some of you are suffering right along with me.

Researchers at Cornell University have deduced that if you are hearing only half the conversation, you are more distracted and have a more difficult time tuning it out. The reason is that:

. . . people try to make sense of snippets of conversation and predict what speakers will say next.

We have less control in turning our attention to something else when we are hearing just one side of the conversation.

[from Reuters]

Leave a Reply

